top of page
Search
  • Valentine Bauer

Materials

Updated: Oct 7, 2019

I just received my ENVIRO-DIY Mayfly data logger. I am now waiting on Probes for the river and a couple of other items to hold it all. I am expecting to get the probes into the water sometime in October.

In other news it has recently rained which did not effect the river as much as I expected it too, The water was slightly muddy but without strong currents not much runoff or silt was present in the water. The River HAS to spring fed there are ares of the river that should be completely dry but are not and to top it off the water is almost always cold. Turning over rocks in the stream has shown that there are a variety of bugs in the water, Stoneflies, Mayflies, and caddisflies have all been seen. The one species that I was able to identify was the Northern Caddisfly (Pycnopsyche) I saw a few of these in adult form laying eggs on the water. Erosion on all sides of the banks seems to be stable. I will post pictures as soon as I am able to get them.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Since deployment

Since the deployment of the data logger not much has been going on. I have been editing code and upgrading it bit by bit. we are looking for a different section of the stream with deeper water so that

SUCCESS!!

I have finally gotten my data logger logging temperature! the problem was that I didn't have a 4.7k ohm resistor on my breadboard. I will post more updates as I progress in C++

bottom of page